When the Superhero Dies

For My Girlfriends…

This blog has been churning in my head for days and nights.  Not sure if you can relate.

wallpaper_supergirl04CONFESSION:  I’ve grown up with this desire to be Supergirl.  In my eyes Supergirl had it all!  Alluring looks, six pack stomach, plump breasts and not to mention sexy red hot knee boots.  The thought of having as much superpower as Superman but the capturing looks of Supergirl is enticing.

Honestly, I didn’t know who Supergirl was until I met my husband.  I had never read a comic book or watched comic type cartoons.  I did however have this innate desire to conquer all, finish strong and look great while doing it.

This desire came to a halt as I drove to work one morning chatting with my husband.  What started as a peaceful conversation ended in an explosion of words.

The Supergirl in me felt like I had encountered the worst kryptonite ever.  The kryptonite slowly crawled into my heart seeping up into my  mouth only to erupt like a volcano of projectile vomit.

Our conversation ended abruptly, I was in shock.  What did I say?  How did I allow those things to come out of my mouth?

The Supergirl inside of me died that day.

I realized that I couldn’t do it anymore.  I couldn’t keep up this “super” persona.  The dishes, laundry, cleaning, working, writing, mentoring, lawn, friends, family, bills…. it was too much and everything had pilled up.

As much as I thought I wanted to be Supergirl – I didn’t.

I didn’t want to do it all.  

I didn’t want to be it all.

I just want to be me, Jess Vega the daughter God desires me to be.

That day I realized that accepting help is okay.  I realized that I don’t have to prove to anyone that I’m “super” at anything but what God calls me to be.

His daughter.

Adam’s wife.

Antonio’s mom.

Allowing my husband to see that this six pack well… it’s more like a small keg.  These plump breasts well…  are just droopy.  Those red hot sexy knee boots… I still love them!

Girlfriends… we need help.  None of us are Supergirl (no matter how much you work out).  God designed your marriage to be a partnership – working together for one common goal – your family.

I was reminded a very important lesson that day.

My words can hurt.

My actions can hurt even more.

It’s my choice how I choose to live my life.

I love my husband, our family and each day God gives us together.  Today, I choose to use words that are uplifting, encouraging and loving.  I choose to show actions that will bring honor, love and respect to the one whom I said “for better or worse”.

“May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.”   Psalm 19:14 NIV

2 comments

  1. Liz · September 4, 2013

    I love it! You are hearing from God with a timely word for all girlfriends!. The trappings of super mom, super wife, super everything are all around us, and hard to get away from at times. I simply love reading the reflections of a woman seeking after God’s on heart! Builds me up in my faith and reminds me to take a deep breath and continue pressing on towards my higher calling in Christ. love you lots Jess!

  2. Johanna · September 11, 2013

    I love this. Yes! This is me all the way. I run myself down into the ground trying to do it all. I read how somehow exhaustion has become a synonym of the Christian woman. That is not what God wants from us. Thank you for taking about this.

Leave a comment